BIOS

Our life's work

Is to find out how
life works

DEPARTMENT OF VETERINARY BIOSCIENCES

September 2019

Contents

New Faculty Hires
Awards
In the News

Faculty Promotions
Graduates & Residents

Grants
Conference News
Other Faculty & Staff News

New Faculty Hires in the Department

The Department of Veterinary Biosciences has always played an active role in hiring talented faculty, but the past year has proved to be particularly fruitful. Since August 2018, the Department of Veterinary Biosciences has recruited and hired five new faculty members. From left to right:

Kara Corps, DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVP, Assistant Professor in Laboratory Animal Pathology
Heather Shive, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP, Assistant Professor in Oncology
Samantha Evans, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP, Assistant Professor in Clinical Pathology
Alexander Davies, DVM, PhD, Assistant Professor in Oncology
Amanda Panfil, PhD, Assistant Professor in Retrovirology











In addition, the department has begun the search process for two open faculty positions in Immunology and Pathology.

Faculty Promotions

We are pleased to announce the promotion of three department faculty members in 2019:

Dr. Ian Davis has been promoted to Professor.

Dr. Rachel Cianciolo has been promoted to Associate Professor.

Dr. Sue Knoblaugh has been promoted to Associate Professor.



Grants



Dr. Mike Oglesbee received a renewal award of the NIH T35 grant in support of the college summer research program for veterinary students.

Dr. Amit Sharma received an R00 grant from NIH-National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases entitled, "Host innate immune response as a barrier to cross-species retrovirus transmission."

Dr. Yasuko Rikihisa received an R21 grant, "Inhibition of Ehrlichial Infection of Intracellular Nanobody."

Dr. Estelle Cormet-Boyaka has been named Co-director of the Epithelial Cell core with Dr. Mark Peeples in the newly established NCH/OSU Cystic Fibrosis Basic Research Center.

Drs. Prosper Boyaka (PI) and **Estelle Cormet-Boyaka** (co-investigator) have received a pilot and feasibility grant, "Adaptive immunity in CF: Understanding B cell function."

Dr. Estelle Cormet-Boyaka received a supplemental award for R01, "Restoring macrophage function in Cystic Fibrosis."

Dr. Sanggu Kim is co-investigator on Department of Energy systems biology grant, "Virus in Soils: Key modulators of microbiomes and nutrient cycling?"

Dr. Krista La Perle prepared the proposal to and secured funding from Genentech for a second Veterinary Pathology Fellowship (2019-2022). The first three-year fellowship funded Dr. Margaret Martinez's PhD program.

Dr. Krista La Perle received a Shared Resource Equipment and Development Award from the Comprehensive Cancer Center Intramural Research Program for the purchase of a HistoCore PELORIS 3 Premium Tissue Processing System.

Awards

Dr. Prosper Boyaka received the CVM Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence.

Dr. Jerry Masty received the CVM Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award.

Dr. Estelle Cormet-Boyaka was invited to serve as a member of the NIH's Lung Cellular, Molecular, and Immunobiology Study Section, beginning July 1, 2019.

Teaching & Outreach

Drs. Maxey Wellman, Jerry Masty, and **Ryan Jennings** are now mentors in the University Institute for Teaching and Learning, *FIT: Foundation, Impact, Transformation* mentoring program.

Publications

Faculty in the department have published numerous journal articles as authors and co-authors. For a detailed list, please click <u>here</u>.



Board Certifications

The ACVP certifying examination is a two-phase process that candidates must pass in order to be certified as Diplomates in either veterinary anatomic or clinical pathology. We are pleased to present the following faculty and students from our Combined Pathology Residency/Graduate Program who have become board certified, passing the examination on their first try:

Dr. Samantha Evans, Clinical Pathology Dr. Mary White, Clinical Pathology Margaret Martinez, Anatomic Pathology Tiffany Jenkins, Anatomic Pathology

The national pass rates for the 2019 exam were 76.3% in Anatomic Pathology and 70.8% in Clinical Pathology.

Graduates & Residents

Dr. Michael Martinez received a third place poster award in the basic science category at the OSU CCC Annual Scientific Meeting. In addition, he is the recipient of an STP Student Travel Grant.

Three students from the CVM Graduate Program were awarded grants from the C. Glenn Barber Fund: **Victoria Maksimova** (advisor: Dr. Li Wu), in addition to **Dr. Gregory Ballash** (advisor: Dr. Tom Wittum) and **Dr. Michael Martinez** (advisor: Dr. Pat Green) from the Combined Pathology Residency/Graduate Program.

Conference News

Dr. Shan-Lu Liu is co-organizer of the first-ever Midwest Virology Symposium 2019, being held October 11-13, 2019 at The Ohio State University Infectious Diseases Institute. The goal is to bring together researchers from the Midwest region of the U.S. to share and discuss recent advances in virology, viral immunology, viral oncology, viral pathogenesis, and antiviral therapies.



In the News

Ohio State News reported on Dr. Shan-Lu Liu's study on the role of Nef in HIV infection in an article dated March 4:

https://news.osu.edu/researchers-uncover-new-facets-of-hivs-arms-race-with-human-defense-system/

Other Faculty & Staff News

Dr. Li Wu has accepted the position of Chair and Department Executive Officer for the Department of Microbiology and Immunology in the University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine, starting November 1, 2019.

Dr. Mary White, a resident in Clinical Pathology, accepted a position at Midwestern University as Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology.

Paul Stromberg, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP, Emeritus Faculty in the department, will receive the



2019 Archie M. Griffin Professional Achievement Award on September 20, 2019. This is awarded to alumni who have superb records of distinguished career accomplishments and who have made outstanding contributions to their professions. No more than three individuals are selected in any one year for this award.

Jan Roseberry, our long-serving Administrative Associate, retired June 1. **Sue Harshe** is now the Assistant to the Department Chair.