Skip to main content

Celebrating Ohio State's newest IOM member

In December,
the College of Veterinary Medicine hosted a reception to honor Dr. Michael
Lairmore, associate dean for Research and Graduate Studies, professor,
Department of Veterinary Biosciences, and associate director for Shared Resources at the Ohio State University
Comprehensive Cancer Center (OSUCCC), who was recently named to the Institute
of Medicine, one of the highest honors awarded to scientists in the biomedical
fields. Read the
full story

Established in 1970, the IOM is the health arm of the
National Academy of Sciences, which was chartered under President Abraham
Lincoln in 1863. It has expanded into what is collectively known as the
National Academies, which comprises the National Academy of Sciences, the
National Academy of Engineering, the National Research Council, and the IOM.
Along with Dr. Lairmore, five other faculty at Ohio
State are members of the Institute of Medicine.


As associate
director for Shared Resources, Dr. Lairmore oversees a network of 16
specialized services, or core facilities, that help investigators conduct
cancer research by reaching across medical disciplines to offer expert
leadership and training; clinical, administrative and technical support; and
state-of-the-art instrumentation. Read more:



Last updated: 

Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 3:53pm