Skip to main content

VPM News

Veterinary Preventive Medicine faculty member, Linda Saif, MS, PhD, has been awarded the title of Fellow by the National Academy of Inventors.
Dr. Mo Saif, was honored at the 97th Annual Conference of Research Workers in Animal Disease (CRWAD) in December along with Veterinary Medicine students, Aratia Sharma, Santosh Dhakal, Dipak Kathayat, and Animal Sciences student, Holden Hutchinson.
The first discovery of transmissible carbapenem-resistant enterobactericeae (CRE) in livestock in the United States has been made by a research team lead by Dr. Thomas Wittum, Professor and Chair of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.
Dr. Armando Hoet, Director of the Veterinary Public Health Program in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, and Dr. Ross Coniglio, VPH Resident, led seven visiting scholars from Ethiopia in the first ever Farm-to-Table event held in Ohio.
The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine hosted the 3rd Annual CEIRS Surveillance Meeting from November 14-16, 2016.
CDC has awarded more than $14 million to fund new approaches to combat antibiotic resistance; awardees include the researc h team led by Dr. Thomas Wittum, Professor and Chair of Veterinary Preventive Medicine at the Ohio State University.
Rapid spread of dog disease can be stopped with diligent infection controlExperts provide guidance for dog shows, dog parks and doggie daycare
Dr. Jeanette O'Quin was recently recognized in Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) for receiving the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Animal Welfare Award.
Dr. Jeff LeJeune has been recruited by the United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization to provide technical advice, and to help launch and coordinate several UN antibiotic resistance initiatives.
Dimitria Mathys, veterinarian and Graduate Research Associate with Dr. Wittum's epidemiology lab, participated in the "Ask the Experts" panel at the Farm Science Review this year.