Skip to main content

VPM News

Dr. Luciana da Costa  has received a 1-year $4,270 grant from the Ohio Dairy Producers Association to support her research project entitled “Evaluation of the use of automated milk feeding systems in Ohio.” 
Dr. Andréia Gonçalves Arruda has received a 2-year $106,959 grant from the National Pork Board to support her research project entitled, “Assessing within-herd PRRS variability and its impact on production parameters."
DrGreg Habing has received a 1-year grant for $151,111 from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention to support his research project entitled “Mitigating zoonotic transmission of Salmonella Heidelberg in the dairy calf production chain”.
Dr. Mark Flint, Assistant Professor-Clinical in Veterinary Preventive Medicine has received a 1 year, $6,079.50 grant from the Columbus Zoo entitled “Head-start strategies as a tool for restoration in endangered Diadema antillarum.”
Dr. Andrew Bowman's AIEERP Lab was the recipient of the Outstanding Staff Service Award at the College of Veterinary Medicine Staff Appreciation Luncheon this year.
Dr. Habing has received a grant for $41,635 for Novus International, Inc. to support his research project entitled, "Efficacy of a novel probiotic for the prevention of colonization and dissemination of Salmonella Enteritidis in day-old layer chicks."
Dr. Juan Piñeiro, who graduated from The Ohio State University, College of Veterinary Medicine this year, recently joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Amarillo, Texas as an Extension Service dairy specialist.
What is Ecosystem Health and why do we need to study it? Ecosystem health is used to describe the condition of a habitat and the organisms within it as a result of the positive and negative human and natural factors acting on it.
Dr. Dondrae Coble volunteered in April with Health Sciences Academies as part of the “A Dose of Reading” partnership program between Columbus City Schools, The Ohio State University and Partners Achieving Community Transformation (PACT).
Dr. Raphael Malbrue was one of seven 2018 Wellness Leadership Award recipients at Ohio State University this year.