Skip to main content

College of Veterinary Medicine Community of Inclusion Certificate Ceremony

The College of Veterinary Medicine is pleased to recognize 36 students, faculty, and staff as achieving Partner Level in the inaugural year of the Community of Inclusion Certificate Program. The Community of Inclusion Certificate Program was developed by the college’s Diversity Committee as a way for members of the college to demonstrate their commitment to fostering diversity and inclusion within the college, the veterinary profession, and the communities we serve. There are three levels to the certificate program with the ability to earn one level per year – Partner, Ambassador, and Champion. Partners learn about and support a community of inclusion; Ambassadors represent the community of inclusion and expand the dialogue, and Champions actively promote a community of inclusion and help to facilitate the process.


Dr. Allen Cannedy, recipient of the 2017 Iverson Bell Award, delivered the keynote address for the awards ceremony. The Iverson Bell Award is the veterinary profession’s most prestigious diversity award and recognizes “outstanding leadership and contributions in promoting opportunities for underrepresented minorities in veterinary medical education.” As Director of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs at North Carolina State University, Dr. Cannedy has secured nearly $1million in diversity-related scholarship funds for under-represented veterinary students and has developed numerous innovative programs to promote diversity and inclusion at NCSU and throughout the veterinary profession.


Freedom a la Cart catered the awards ceremony and provided brief opening remarks about their social justice efforts. Freedom a la Cart’s mission is to empower survivors of human trafficking to build a new life of freedom and self-sufficiency. Through offering supportive services, practical life skills, dignified jobs and workforce training, Freedom a la Cart is a place where survivors can heal, learn, and grow as they prepare for full-time employment opportunities in the community.


Congratulations to those achieving Partner Level in the 2016-2017 Community of Inclusion Certificate Program:


Brenda Arras

Jennifer Brandt

Mary Jo Burkhard

Dondrae Coble

Sandra Dawkins

Regina Doss

Morgan Etheridge

Amanda Fark

Roger Fingland

Carrie Freed

Betsy Gibson

Patrick Green

Maggie Heiar

Weihow Hsue

Stephen Jones

Kelsey Kerstetter

Jeffrey Kim

Sue Knoblaugh

Renne Komula

Briana Lynem

Samantha Maiorano

Rustin Moore

Joelle Nielsen

Stefan Niewiesk

Michael Oglesbee

Ruben Pabon Padin

April Pugh

Amanda Signorino

Kacey Smith

Stephanie Sosa

Liesa Stone

Christine Walters

David Wilkie

Jonathan Yardley

Karin Zuckerman


We look forward to the 2017-2018 program and events! More information about the Community of Inclusion Certificate Program can be found at


Last updated: 

Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 10:04am