Resident and Intern Certificate Presentation and Awards Ceremony

On Friday June 29, the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and the Veterinary Medical Center held the 2012 Resident and Intern Certificate Presentation and Reception at the Ohio Union. This annual event, attended by over 170 people, is a celebration of the success and achievement of our residents and interns, and marks the culmination of one phase of their careers.

Dr. Mike Rings, retiring this week, gave opening remarks and Dr. Adam Parson, president of the College Alumni Society, provided a welcome and distributed College Alumni Society lapel pins to honorees. Faculty, staff, family, and friends were recognized for their contributions and support of the residents and interns. In addition, we were also fortunate to have several emeritus faculty members join us for the evening, including Drs. Dennis Chew, Bill Fenner, Bruce Hull, Joe Kowalski, and Bob Sherding. We very much appreciate their continued engagement, contributions, and support to our program.

Certificates of participation or completion were presented to residents and interns, and several awards were given to residents, interns, and faculty. Each person completing their program received a framed certificate and an Alumni Society lapel pin. Presenters gave brief remarks about each resident and intern, provided gifts from the section/service, and showed a few slides or videos to highlight their time here during their program. Resident and intern award winners received a plaque and a monetary gift. Please join us in thanking the following individuals for their contributions and congratulating them for their accomplishments and awards.

Residency Certificates

  • Dr. Laura Leigh Gray, Dermatology
  • Dr. Katarzyna Dembek, Equine Medicine
  • Dr. Nate McClellan, Equine Surgery
  • Dr. Becky Pentecost, Farm Animal Medicine & Surgery
  • Dr. Kari Foss, Neurology
  • Dr. Matthew Sherger, Oncology
  • Dr. Bridget Urie, Oncology
  • Dr. Ilva Grundmann, Radiology
  • Dr. Katy Townsend, Small Animal Surgery

 Internship Certificates

  • Dr. Emily Schaefer, Equine Field Service
  • Dr. Carrie Belles, Farm Animal Medicine & Surgery
  • Dr. Melissa Roth, Small Animal Community Practice
  • Dr. Kathryn Rhue, Small Animal Emergency & Critical Care
  • Drs. Megan Brown, Jessica Lipsett, Danielle Smith, Francesca Venturi, Jessica Ward: Small Animal Medicine & Surgery
  • Dr. Aimee Brooks, Small Animal Surgery

 Awards and Honors

  • Residents’ Recognition Award: Dr. Steve Friedenberg, Dr. Jarred Williams
  • Faculty Clinical Teaching Awards: Dr. Duncan Russell, Dr. Brian Scansen
  • Faculty Graduate Program Award: Dr. John Bonagura
  • Hospital Service Award: Drs. Bridget Urie, Chrissie Pariseau, Elizabeth Lutz
  • Outstanding Intern Award: Dr. Jessica Ward
  • Research Excellence Awards: Dr. Becky Pentecost, Dr. Teresa Burns
  • Clinical Teaching Excellence Awards: Dr. Bridget Urie

VCS MS Theses Completed

As part of their combined residency-graduate program, residents are required to complete a master’s thesis. Below is a list of the residents who completed their specialty training programs along with the titles of their theses, theses advisors, and theses committee members.

Dr. Katarzyna Dembek – Resident in Equine Medicine

Thesis title: Renin-Angiotensin-Aldosterone System Response and Ratios in Hospitalized Newborn Foals

Thesis advisor: Dr. Ramiro Toribio

Thesis committee members: Dr. Catherine Kohn and Dr. Samuel Hurcombe

Dr. Kari Foss – Resident in Neurology

Thesis title: Kinetic and Kinematic Gait Analysis in Doberman Pinchers With and Without Cervical Spondylomyelopathy

Thesis advisor: Dr. Ronaldo da Costa

Thesis committee members: Dr. Sarah Moore and Dr. Matthew Allen

Dr. Laura Leigh Gray – Resident in Dermatology

Thesis title: The Effect of Ketoconazole on Blood and Skin Cyclosporine Concentrations in Canines

Thesis advisor: Dr. Andrew Hillier

Thesis committee members: Dr. Lynette Cole and Dr. Paivi Rajala-Schultz

Dr. Ilva Grundmann – Resident in Radiology

Thesis title: Radiographic and Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Equine Foot: A Focus on the Sole
Thesis advisor: Dr. Wm. Tod Drost

Thesis committee members: Dr. Lisa Zekas and Dr. James Belknap

Dr. Nathaniel McClellan – Resident in Equine Surgery

Thesis title: An Ex Vivo Model to Evaluate the Effect of Cyclical Adductory Forces on Maintenance of Arytenoid Abduction After Prosthetic Laryngoplasty Performed With and Without Mechanical Arytenoid Abduction

Thesis advisor: Dr. Elizabeth Santschi

Thesis committee members: Dr. Alan Litsky and Dr. Ramiro Toribio

Dr. Rebecca Pentecost – Resident in Food Animal Medicine & Surgery

Thesis title: Vertical Transmission of Mycoplasma Haemolamae in Alpacas (Vicugna Pacos)

Thesis advisor: Dr. Jeffrey Lakritz

Thesis committee members: Drs. Antoinette Marsh, Josh Daniels, Andrew Niehaus, Paivi Rajala-Schultz

Dr. Matthew Sherger – Resident in Oncology

Thesis title: Identification of Myeloid Derived Suppressor Cells in Tumor Bearing Dogs

Thesis co-advisors: Dr. William Kisseberth and Dr. Tracey Papenfuss

Thesis committee member: Dr. Cheryl London

Dr. Katy Townsend – Resident in Small Animal Surgery

Thesis title: The Use of Radiographs, Dual-Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry, Quantitative Computed Tomography and Micro-Computed Tomography to Determine Cancellous Bone Quality in the Proximal Femur

Thesis advisor: Dr. Matthew Allen

Thesis committee members: Drs. Richard Hart, Valerie Samii, and Jon Dyce

Dr. Bridget Urie – Resident in Oncology

Thesis title: Expression and Function of VEGFR2, PDFGF, Kit, and Ret in Canine Anal Sac Adenocarcinomas and Thyroid Carcinomas

Thesis advisor: Dr. Cheryl London

Thesis committee members: Dr. William Kisseberth and Dr. Duncan Russell



We would also like to extend a special thanks to our generous and gracious corporate sponsors for their longstanding and ongoing support of our programs.

Scarlet Level Sponsor

  •  Merck Animal Health – Steve Montemarano

Gray Level Sponsors

  •  Bayer Animal Health – Dr. Andy Plum
  •  Boehringer Ingelheim – Cheryl Majors
  •  Novartis Animal Health – Dr. David Duvall
  •  P&G Pet Care – Danny Migliorisi
  •  Zoetis (formally Pfizer Animal Health) – Vanessa Mariani and Dr. Jerry Quinlan 


We would like to extend a very special thanks to Ronda Baldwin to all of her time and effort in organizing this wonderful event, Tim Vojt for his assistance with design and preparation of the invitation and program, and Jerry Harvey for capturing the evening with his photography.

Resident and Intern Awards Ceremony     Resident and Intern Awards


About the College of Veterinary Medicine at Ohio State

Founded in 1885, The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine is ranked fifth in the nation and includes more than 1,000 faculty, staff and students in the Departments of Veterinary Biosciences, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, and Veterinary Preventive Medicine. The Veterinary Medical Center is one of the largest specialty referral centers in the world, with more than 35,000 farm, equine, and companion animal patients each year. A nationally-recognized ambulatory practice and teaching unit in Marysville, Ohio provides farm animal experience to every veterinary student, and the Food Animal Health Research Program in Wooster, OH focuses on detection, control, and prevention of disease. Located on the only campus in the country with a comprehensive medical center offering seven health sciences colleges, we admit up to 162 veterinary students per class, and offer a new comprehensive graduate program in Veterinary and Comparative Medicine as well as a unique Master’s degree in Veterinary Public Health, in partnership with the College of Public Health.