Skip to main content

Congratulations to award winners at theriogenology conference!

At this years combined annual conference of the American College of Theriogenologists (ACT) and the Society for Theriogenologists (SFT), a resident and two students from the College of Veterinary Medicine participated in the Dr. Jerry Rains Memorial Abstract Competition. From all abstracts submitted for the competition, the top eight scoring abstracts were selected for oral presentations during the meeting. Monetary prizes were awarded to the top four abstracts. 

The first place award winner was Dr. Betsy Coffman, resident in Comparative Theriogenology and Reproductive Medicine, for her abstract “Effect of electroejaculation on behavioral and hormonal indicators of stress and nociception in beef bulls”. The research for this project was performed while Dr. Coffman was at the University of Tennessee working with her mentor, Dr. Brian Whitlock. Co-authors for this project were Elizabeth Coffman, Brian K. Whitlock, Joseph A. Daniels, and Hans C. Coetzee.  

Derek Howell, an undergraduate summer research scholar and student in the College of Veterinary Medicine’s Class of 2016, received third place for his abstract “Effects of lactoferrin on stallion sperm survival and function in vitro”. Co-authors for this project were Derek G. Howell, Erin E. Clark, Carlos R.F. Pinto, Kimberly Cole, and Marco A. Coutinho da Silva. Dr. da Silva served as Derek’s advisor, and Dr. Pinto was his co-advisor.

Fourth place was awarded to Brandon Forshey, student in the College of Veterinary Medicine’s Class of 2013 and MS student, for his project “Effects of decreasing doses of follicle-stimulating hormone on multiple ovulations and embryo production in alpacas”. Co-authors for the abstract were Brandon S. Forshey, Elizabeth A. Coffman, Chelsey A. Messerschmidt, Jeffrey Lakritz, Carlos R.F. Pinto, and Marco A. Coutinho da Silva. Dr. da Silva is Brandon’s advisor.

Congratulations to all the award winners and their advisors!


From Left to Right: Dr. Betsy Coffman, Dr. Marco da Silva, Derek Howell, Brandon Forshey, and Dr. Don Sanders at the ACT/SFT Meeting.


Last updated: 

Sunday, December 20, 2015 - 4:19pm