Skip to main content

Annual Oath and Hooding Honors Class of 2013

On Saturday, May 4, the College of Veterinary Medicine welcomed the 137 new veterinarians into their chosen field at the annual Oath and Hooding ceremony, held at Mershon Auditorium, 1871 N. High St. Surrounded by friends and family, students received their scarlet and grey academic hood as a symbol of their degree. The hood is worn draped around the neck and over the shoulders, displayed down the back with the lining exposed, and is considered the most formal part of academic dress, which includes the more familiar cap and gown.

The Class of 2013 was also recognized at the Honors and Awards Ceremony at 11 a.m. at the Fawcett Center, 2400 Olentangy River Road. Excellence awards were given to students who excelled in their clinical rotations, and from students to faculty. A list of award winners is available below.

In addition to recognizing the most recent graduates, the College of Veterinary Medicine will also recognize faculty award winners and several Distinguished Alumni Award winners, including:

Dr. Tony Forshey, (DVM 1977), for outstanding contributions to veteirnary medicine and agriculture in the state of Ohio;
Dr. Kathy Smith (DVM 1978), for her "One Health" approach and contribution to public health in the state of Ohio; and
Dr. William D. Kerns (DVM 1975), for prolific efforts in drug development, scholarly work in cardiovascular toxicology, and entrepreneurial spirit.

Faculty Award winners include:

Dr. Andrew Hillier, professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Charles C. Capen Teaching Excellence Award for Graduate Education
Dr. Lawrence Hill, associate professor - clinical, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Dean’s Award for Creativity in Teaching
Dr. Y. Mohamed “Mo” Saif, professor (retired), Veterinary Preventive Medicine, Food Animal Health Research Program, William L. Ingalls Award for Outstanding Service
Dr. Mary A. McLoughlin, associate professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award (former Pfizer Animal Health)
Dr. Li Wu, associate professor, Veterinary Biosciences, Zoetis Award for Distinguished Research
Dr. Linda J. Saif, Distinguished University Professor, Food Animal Health Research Program, David White Research Award


Last updated: 

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 - 3:50pm