Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine Alumni Society Members to receive Awards

At the Alumni Reunion Weekend that took place September 9-11, members of the Veterinary Medicine Alumni Society received awards for their accomplishments. The John Lyman Jr. Award, the Charles W. Fox Award, the Special President’s Award, and Alumni Society Recognition Awards were presented to the winners (see below) on Friday, September 9 at the banquet held at the Hilton Columbus at Easton.

Award Recipients

John Lyman Jr. Award for Clinical Teaching Excellence

Brian Scansen, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM

Dr. Brian Scansen received his DVM from Michigan State University in 2004 and is currently an Assistant Professor of cardiology and interventional medicine at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Read full bio

Fox Family Teaching Excellence Award in honor of Dr. Charles Fox

Carlos Pinto, MedVet, PhD, Diplomate ACT

Dr. Carlos Pinto received his veterinary medical degree from São Paulo University in 1986 and is currently an Associate Professor at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Read full bio

Alumni Society Special President’s Award

John Spiker, DVM

Dr. John Spiker received his DVM from The Ohio State University in 1974 and ran a mixed animal practice until 1982. He is currently a partner in Alpha Gas Corporation and farms 650 acres raising cattle and sheep.

Alumni Society Recognition Awards

Anna M. van Heeckeren, MS, DVM

Dr. Anna van Heeckeren received her DVM from The Ohio State University in 1993 and became a worldwide expert in cystic fibrosis mouse models before founding The van Bakeren Foundation for the purpose of preventing the spread of zoonotic diseases.

Donald L. Reynolds, DVM, PhD

Dr. Donald Reynolds received his DVM in 1981 and PhD in 1986 from The Ohio State University, and in 2008 he was named dean and professor of Microbiology and Pathology of the Atlantic Veterinary College at the University of Prince Edward Island.

Gary L. Riggs, DVM

Dr. Gary Riggs received his DVM from The Ohio State University in 1981 and later began working at the Akron Zoological Park. In 2006 he helped to start the non-profit organization “Wild4Ever,” a wildlife conservation foundation dedicated to preserving animals both domestically and worldwide.

Dawn E. Morin, DVM, MS

Dr. Dawn Morin received her DVM from The Ohio State University in 1986, and in 2008 she was named professor and Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs & Curriculum at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

View detailed biographies of Alumni Award winners



About the College of Veterinary Medicine at Ohio State

Founded in 1885, The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine is ranked fifth in the nation and includes more than 1,000 faculty, staff and students in the Departments of Veterinary Biosciences, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, and Veterinary Preventive Medicine. The Veterinary Medical Center is one of the largest specialty referral centers in the world, with more than 35,000 farm, equine, and companion animal patients each year. A nationally-recognized ambulatory practice and teaching unit in Marysville, Ohio provides farm animal experience to every veterinary student, and the Food Animal Health Research Program in Wooster, OH focuses on detection, control, and prevention of disease. Located on the only campus in the country with a comprehensive medical center offering seven health sciences colleges, we admit up to 162 veterinary students per class, and offer a new comprehensive graduate program in Veterinary and Comparative Medicine as well as a unique Master’s degree in Veterinary Public Health, in partnership with the College of Public Health.   


Last updated: 

Friday, May 4, 2012 - 2:32pm