Skip to main content

Dr. Mo Saif and VPM students honored at CRWAD Annual Meeting

The 97th Annual Conference of Research Workers in Animal Disease (CRWAD) meeting was held on December 4-6, 2016 in Chicago, Illinois. This year's meeting was dedicated to professor emeritus, Dr. Yehia Mohamed (Mo) Saif, with the Department of Veterinary Medicine, Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center - Food Animal Health Research Program, for his many years of service to the meeting. The full profile for Dr. Saif's honorary award is available here.

Also recognized at the meeting were the following Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine students:

Arati Sharma, DVM, MPH, was awarded the third prize for her oral presentation by the American Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine. Her presentation was entitled “Distribution and diversity of Salmonella strains in shipments of mail-order hatchling poultry.” Dr. Greg Habing is her committee advisor.

Santosh Dhakal, DVM, MS, received second place in Student Oral Presentation Competition awarded by American Association of Veterinary Immunologist (AAVI). His presentation was titled "PLGA nanoparticle delivery of inactivated swine influenza virus vaccine provides heterologous protection through cell-mediated immunity in pigs." Dr. Renukaradhya Gourapura is his committee advisor.

Dipak Kathayat, DVM, received the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists Award for first place in the poster presentation in aggregate microbiology section. For the same poster, he also received first place for the the David Francis Award for Enteric Diseases Research in the poster presentation in the pathobiology of enteric and foodborne pathogens section. Dr. Gireesh Rajashekara is his committee advisor.

Holden Hutchinson, BS - Animal Sciences, received first place in the student poster presentation for the Association of Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventative Medicine Award at CRWAD. His poster presentation was titled “The Changes in the Prevalence of Antimicrobial Resistance through a Vertically Integrated Veal Calf Production System.” Dr. Greg Habing is his committee advisor.

Last updated: 

Friday, January 20, 2017 - 10:53am