Headline News

Dr. Lord receives UCSC Career Services Award

Dr. Linda Lord, Associate Dean for Professional Programs and associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, was presented with the University Career Services Committee (UCSC) Career Services Award at the UCSC Annual Speaker event on May 14.

Graduate student named Presidential Fellow

John Patton, PhD student in Comparative and Veterinary Medicine and Presidential Fellow.John Patton, a PhD candidate in the College of Veterinary Medicine's Comparative and Veterinary Medicine Graduate Program, was selected to receive the Presidential Fellowship by The Ohio State Univer

Update on Dennis’ Legacy fund, supporting healthy weight in dogs

Dennis the dachshund, who lost 44 lbs.The story of VMC patient Dennis the dachshund and his dramatic weight loss was featured May 11 on the Steve Harvey Show. Dennis weighed 56 pounds when Brooke Burton rescued him from a relative.

Oath and Hooding congratulates new veterinarians and alumni award winners

On Saturday, May 9, the College of Veterinary Medicine welcomed 152 new veterinarians into their chosen field at the annual Oath and Hooding ceremony, held at Mershon Auditorium. Surrounded by friends and family, students received their scarlet and grey academic hood as a symbol of their degree. The hood is worn draped around the neck and over the shoulders, displayed down the back with the lining exposed, and is considered the most formal part of academic dress, which includes the more familiar cap and gown.

Faculty present research at annual PHPID meeting

Ohio State's Public Health Preparedness for Infectious Disease consists of a team of multidisciplinary researchers, including several from the College of Veterinary Medicine. PHPID held their Annual Member Meeting on May 5, and research summaries and future insights were presented by Drs. Greg Habing, Jason Stull, Ian Davis, Mike Oglesbee and Wondwossen Gebreyes. 

Client shares story of Labrador retriever, Elly

“We all have certain friends – even the four-legged kind –who enter our lives and leave indelible marks (or paw prints) on our hearts,” said Judy Thompson about her daughter's family dog Elly in an article featured recently in The Columbus Dispatch, under the “first person” section of the paper.

Dr. Robert Hummel receives 2015 Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Robert C. HummelDr. Robert C. Hummel, alumnus of The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Class of '61, is one of six individuals to be honored this year by the Board of Trustees with a Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes those "who have rendered exceptional service...and have provided a broad spectrum of services to the university in both official and unofficial capacities." 

Article on mental health in the veterinary profession quotes Dr. Brandt

Dr. Jennifer BrandtDVM 360's recently published story, "The burden of care: Know the risks of your mental health," features Dr. Jennifer Brandt, Veterinary Student Affairs & Admissions and adjunct faculty member in Counseling and Consultation Services. 

Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching goes to Dr. Teresa Burns

Dr. Teresa Burns, assistant clinical instructor in Equine Field Services, was named a recipient of a 2015 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching annually recognizes a maximum of 10 faculty members at The Ohio State University for their teaching excellence. Students, faculty and alumni may nominate faculty, and the winners are then chosen by a committee of students, previous recipients and alumni. 

Alumnus receives award

Dr. C. Richard Beckett, 1960 graduate from The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine and 2002 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the college, was honored recently for his work and support as a board member for the University of Findlay. After retiring as Chair of the University of Findlay's Board of Trustees in 2014 following 30 years of service, Dr. Beckett received the 2015 Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges’ Earl F. Morris Trustee Award.