Headline News

Ohio State neurology leader publishes textbook

Vast improvements have been made in the field of veterinary neurology in recent years, creating the need for an updated textbook.

Two faculty members honored for teaching excellence

Dr. Teresa Burns, right, receives the John Lyman Jr. Award for Clinical Teaching Excellence from two members of the Lyman family (both left)Homecoming Weekend brought reunion as well as recognition, including the honor of two clinical faculty members for their outstanding teaching efforts.

2015 Alumni Society Recognition Award winners

The Alumni Society Recognition Awards are presented annually during Homecoming Weekend. These awards are given to alumni who have shown distinction through their professional or non-professional activities.  This year, we're proud to grant the award to four alumni who have set themselves apart through exellence in veterinary medicine or enhancing their community. Click here to see a list of past Alumni Society Recognition Award winners, and read more about the 2015 winners below. 

Congratulations to our Kudos! Staff Leadership Award winners

On Oct. 12, the College of Veterinary Medicine recognized staff contributions at the annual Kudos! luncheon, catered by Q-doba. 

Four students present research at American Association of Zoo Veterinarians Annual Conference

(L to R) Third-year students Ellen Puthoff, Alina Osowski, Sarah Wahlstrom and Kanyon McLean at the AAZV's 2015 Annual ConferenceOf the 125 individuals who presented research at the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians' 47th Annual Conference, which was held in Portla

Dean Moore discusses laminitis research, progress

horseDean Rustin Moore was featured in The Blood-Horse, a weekly magazine focused on horse news. It began publication in 1916 by the Thoroughbred Horse Association, and is currently owned by the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

Dr. Gebreyes speaks at Ohio Union on Global One Health activities

Dr. Gebreyes receiving the Michael P. Malone International Leadership AwardThe Center for Clinical and Translational Science's (CCTS) annual meeting, called BRUTx, was held on Sept. 29 at the Ohio Union's U.S. Bank Conference Theater.

Thoughtful remembrance of emeritus faculty member Dr. Jean Powers

Dr. Jean D Powers, emeritus faculty in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences, passed away on Sept. 22, 2015 at age 84. Dean Rustin Moore delivered a caring eulogy at her funeral service on Sept. 26, which can be found below. Dr. Powers impacted the lives of many people both inside and outside the university, and her legacy will live on for years to come. 

Eulogy for Dr. Jean D. Powers

Rustin M. Moore

Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Lonnie J. King leads prestigious Presidential Advisory Council

LonnieKingDr. Lonnie J. King, former dean and current professor in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, has been elected to the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria, established by Executive Order 13676, and signed by President Obama.